Happy One Month!

At risk of disgusting everyone with the ridiculous effervescence typical of a new relationship…I say, Happy One Month Anniversary Amusinghabit!!!

Just be glad I didn’t do a one-week Anniversary celebration. Haters.

To honor the occasion, I wanted to report the word count advance thus far, and I’ll share an excerpt from my manuscript! Are you shaking with excitement? Too much caffeine? That’s ok, me too. Well, I might actually be shaking from all the sugar in my succulent Panera hot chocolate. No matter!

Cumulative Word Count Progress: 5,368! That’s almost a 40% increase!! (For your reference, I began this work in Aug 2010)

Excerpt: Introducing Anne, a love interest for Eli, a main character.

Perspective: Primary main character, Eli’s new guardian angel, taking the shape of a young lioness

Setting: Eli’s living room at his new address

“Your new accommodations are to your liking, Mr. Marsh?” the woman queries from the other side of the couch.

I watch as Eli nods and grins, looking down at his knees. He’s allowing the teasing tones of that voice to flow over the nape of his neck and down his back.

I can’t see the woman from my vantage point, but two beings on my plane accompany her–both looking weary and blistered. They are perched on the back of the couch, one at each side.

One, a once-handsome fox, lifts his ragged head to observe me. The left side of his face has been savaged. There’s a jagged crevice from eye to nose that contrasts the command and poise in what’s left of his countenance. I bow my head in greeting to our guest’s highest Guardian.

The other is a cheetah–tired but comparatively resplendent. She’s small but her presence is ravishing and red. She’s a demon and seduction is in every line of her body. Even the scars interrupting the predator’s-pattern coat only amplify her intensity.

Both angel and demon scare me. Their bodies are tense with awareness and I wonder what  tiny infraction will snap the tenuous peace between them. I want to hide, or rather, my cub’s body is scooting away to hide behind a chair leg. I try to comport myself around the obvious fear in my reaction.

I can see the woman from this vantage point now. She’s slender and strong. Her shoulders are poised at a careless slant but  her back  is curved tight yet supple, like a bow.  The thin  material of her black dress kisses her in every curve as she breathes. Her neck is long, artful and naked. Dark eyes flash to accompany an inviting  smile framed with crimson lips. Long delicate fingers are draped  over the breast of a bordeaux  glass whose stem presses into her thigh.  She tosses her head  in a laugh which sends  her red curls flying to cast flitting shadows on the pale blades of her shoulders.

I am intoxicated. There’s no beauty quite like this, I’m sure of it.
Pleasure  to meet you,  Anne.

3 thoughts on “Happy One Month!

  1. Victor F

    We don’t know much yet about the guardian angels. I’m sure we’ll hear more from future excerpts or the whole book itself.

    Because of the length of the excerpt, it’s tough to discern the nature of the relationship between the angels and demons. I can’t tell if the main character (the angel) expects the demon to be there or not. Does Eli also have a demon partner?

    Is this the first time that Eli meets Anne, the love interest? If so, it seems that there should be more description of her. We have the crimson lips, the red curls, the black dress, and the long fingers. There is more described in the text, but the image of her is fuzzy at the moment.

    I was thrown off by the description of the bordeaux glass, as the “breast” doesn’t seem to be a usual descriptive word (http://www.ehow.com/info_8104897_parts-wine-glasses.html) for a part of a glass. The use of “stem” seems appropriate.

    It’s exciting to see the interaction of the guardians in the future. We have a lion, a fox, a cheetah (oh my!). There is some tension between the three guardians, which conveys a possible eventual conflict between them. (Is it called a guardian demon also?) I can’t wait to see their powers and/or fighting styles!

    We’re looking forward to developments in the plot!

    Until the next update! It’s an impressive increase in word count, keep it up!

    Reply
    1. amusing1 Post author

      I don’t want to give too much of the plot-line away, but I’ll attempt to answer a few of these questions.

      First of all, Eli might just have a demon that’s taken a special interest in him, but that character isn’t established in this scene.

      This is certainly not Eli’s first meeting with Anne. He has actually just moved into this apartment to be more proximal to her.
      It’s actually confounding to me that you say you’re left wanting more description of Anne, whereas I feel I’ve already stretched the general audience’s attention span. I personally feel pretty fulfilled by this, but I also know what comes next. Perhaps that colors my opinion on the matter unfairly.

      The part of the glass that I chose to call the “breast” is normally called the “bowl”, but that word suggests negative volume, as in the concave interior of the vessel that holds the wine. Instead, what I want the reader to feel in this scene is the convex shape that is resting under Anne’s hand. Additionally, I was using the inherent sensuality of that word to boost Anne’s implied sex appeal. It puts the reader in the same frame of mind that Eli views Anne in.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

