Reading List

In response to the Writer’s Toolbox post, herein I decide my reading list from now till Aug 30th.

I think I will have to change my reading habits for this venture.

Instead of reading 6 different works at once, I should probably read only one until it’s finished. And then the next one. Then the next. That way, I can do a thorough, focussed review, having immersed myself in a single author’s style.

I have 7 months, so I don’t see why I shouldn’t go ahead and read 7 books. A book per month isn’t too crazy, in addition to having a full time job, Crossfit 3 times a week, and trying to finish a manuscript. Right? Right. It sounds easy without friends, sleeping, cleaning, and feeding myself mentioned in that lineup. My relationship with my cat may suffer.

I admit having serious anxiety about choosing one title to sustain me for a whole month. All by itself. I tend to balance serious novels and nonfiction with young adult fun stuff. I suppose I need to choose books in some middle ground, then. I’ll limit myself further. WIth respect to my bank account, I shall pull only from my pile of books that I already own, but haven’t yet read. I will  exclude my (small) rare and old book collection, as I’d like to annotate and jot notes in margins per my custom for this directive.

Observe my stock.20130125_205054    

My choices (phew was that a tough exercise!):

  1. For fun: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, Seth Grahame-Smith
  2. From an influence of mine: Hard Times, Charles Dickens
  3.  Directly pertaining to my manuscript: The Problem of Pain, C.S. Lewis
  4. A new experience: Captain America: Marvel Masterworks by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby (the world of comics is utterly unknown to me)
  5. Easy reading: Choke, Chuck Palahniuk
  6. Personally challenging: Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage, Elizabeth Gilbert
  7. A global phenomenon: Girls of Riyadh, Rajaa Alsanea

There you have it! I’ve overcome some serious anxiety and produced….a list. I’ve come so far.

I’ll update about this venture in posts categorized “Review”. I’ll probably do a few check-ins with each book before the final review.

Feel free to follow along in your books. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reading List

  1. bethy

    Wow. And that was just a blog….how can I describe the feeling of your writing? I hardly feel worthy; however, ehem, I shall make an attempt. There is an inescapable gracious manner that exudes from everything you write. I am almost overwhelmed by it’s (your writing’s) elegance and refinement. Just shy of being too rich for my palate, it makes me at once in love and ashamed, but only because of my everyday lack of anything but stark lackluster reality and only being able to find magificence in the small musings of my own mind. Thank you, thank you. And keep writing, for many of us are moving through life, dead to the kind of beauty your writing holds, and I for one, am starved for it.

    Reply
  2. Bob

    I STRONGLY recommend ‘The Mysterious Benedict’s Society’ (series) by Trenton Lee Stewart. Certainly in the ‘for fun’ category. I read these a couple summers back and wager they are right up your literary alley.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

