Introduction and Invitation

Reader,

This is an enterprise, and you’re cordially invited.

The objective of this endeavor is, at first blush, highly individualized: namely, the publication of my first novel. However, I must assert that you play a pivotal role in the realization of that lofty goal. For now, however, I must ask you to engage in a willing suspension of disbelief. The specifics on the part you will play will become obvious as we go along.

For now, I’ll tell you what to expect from me. Allow me a few moments to give you the briefest of background.

Years ago, I began to draft a manuscript.

Today, I have a half-finished manuscript and a writer’s block self-help aid entitled The Pocket Muse by Monica Wood. Most importantly, I have an idea.

The Muse has a different directive on every page, like “Write about trouble resulting from a good deed” or “Write a sex scene and make it funny”.

Image

With this book as the backbone, I shall do 3 things.

Weekly, you will find in my posts:

1) A 300-500 word response to a single page in the Muse.

2) A report of the added word count on my manuscript since my last post.

3) The directive from the next page in the Muse so you have something to look forward to.

In case you’re worried that I’m one of those aspiring authors who spends most of their time haunting that corner at Starbucks, agonizing over the perpetual lack of inspiration, I’ll tell you a bit about myself. Just so you know you’re on an adventure with an adventurer.

I make my money traveling around maintaining nuclear power plants. (For those of you who are unfamiliar with that environment, it requires a lot of patience, way too much training and paperwork, and an ability to adapt to ridiculous situations). I’m an engineer. I design the tools and processes, and then I travel to implement them. Well, in the best cases, I travel. In the worst cases, I sit at my desk having been told that “the best engineer doesn’t need to be involved at the implementation stage”. I will suppress the frustrated diatribe I have prepared for rebuttal when I no longer need the paycheck.

In my spare time (in other words, what I spend that money on, besides the college loan payback) I run, bike, swim, rock climb, and involve myself in such crazy endeavors as the Warrior Dash. Crossfit will soon be among these activities.

I’m also involved in Toastmasters. Though I aspire towards eloquence,  I do suspect my time spent volunteering at a historical shipyard is counterproductive to this goal. But who doesn’t love the occasional “Arrrggh”, and the colorful profanity germane to the linguistic style of sea dogs?

I read too much for sanity, and sing too much for that of my cat. We won’t even talk about my dancing.

So without further adieu, I begin.

1) This entry will count towards my writing goal for today (Judge away, please)

2) My current word count for my novel is: 13,479. The goal is approximately 30,000 by August.

3) Muse’s directive: “Write about someone who is pretending to be someone or something that he is not.”

One thought on “Introduction and Invitation

  1. BG

    Well now, this is not too far off the standard weekday IM we exchange. It grabs attention, sustains the energy and makes the reader feel engaged. I, being one of the readers, am delighted to receive this cordial invite. Good intro… I found myself wondering what Toastmasters is, and though I would like to imagine it as a circle of champagne flutes, I have this sneaking suspicion that I’m incorrect. As I wish to provide feedback on your writings and not your social activities, I will leave it at that… Look forward to the next blog bomb you lob at the lobby…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

